The Knoxville Public Safety Foundation will strive to provide assistance and support to public safety professionals and their immediate family in the event of catastrophic injury, illness, death or other significant life-altering events.


The KPSF is organized exclusively for the purposes outlined as follows:To receive funds and property, to invest funds, and to disburse and distribute the same as voluntary, gratuitous and charitable gifts and contributions to or for the benefit of police officers and firefighters and their immediate family within the KPSF service area.


Public safety professionals will be defined as full time, sworn members of the four core agencies in which the KPSF will serve. These include the Knoxville Police Department, The Knoxville Fire Department, The Knox County Sheriff’s Office and the University Of Tennessee Police Department. Additionally, the immediate family of the full time, sworn public safety professional will be defined as spouse and dependent children.

Assistance awarded to the public safety professional and/or their immediate family may be in the form of financial support or if applicable, a tangible item (i.e. vehicle, home/home improvement, equipment). Scholarships may be awarded to the dependent children as deemed appropriate.

Part time employees are not eligible for awards or benefits.

The service area of the KPSF is within the Knox County jurisdiction. The four (4) core agencies are all located within the noted service area.


Chief Sean Patterson
Sheriff Tom Spangler
Chief Paul Noel
Chief Stan Sharp
Chief Sterling Owen, Ret.
Lysette Aviles
Grey Steed
Norman Majors
Bob Gilbertson
Charlie Daniel

J.E. Henry
George Kershaw
Alvin Nance
Ben Bentley
Steve Golliher
Gary Price
Robyn Askew
Avice Reid
Tim Miller


Gary D. Price
Knoxville Law Enforcement
Federal Credit Union


Chief Sterling Owen, Ret.
Tim Miller (Charities Aid Foundation America)
ORNL Gives


Grey Steed
Eddie and Marianne Thompson
Michael Phelps
George Kershaw, City Wide Service Club




Louise Meck
John Rountree
Avice Reid
United Way
Robyn Askew
Jennifer Taylor
Carrie Owen McConkey


Each individual or business who contributes will be recognized.  The recognition will be a lapel pin and name recognition on the web site based upon their level of giving for a minimum period of 12 months unless requested differently by the donor.

We would also like to recognize the contributions of J.E. Henry and Mike Hill of IT 4 the Planet for the creation and installation of our software and, without whom, this web site would not exist; Lysette Aviles and the Graphics Design Department of Scripps Networks for their assistance with the web site graphics; Mary Gallant of Gallant DesignWorks for her assistance with the web site; Sherry Smith, Debbie Moore and Becky Kreisa for their multiple contributions of accounting, typing, and general guidance in performing the “behind the scenes” duties to make the Foundation successful, and finally the KPSF Officers, Executive Committee members and members of the Board of Directors who perform hours of volunteer service to complete the infrastructure, to solicit funding and to do what was necessary to make the Foundation operational.